Two Pounds Gone!

Hey everyone! Sorry I’ve been kind of MIA! I hope everyone is doing well!

.

I had an early weigh-in today (it should be Tuesdays) and I lost two pounds! Yay! It’s not a ton, but it’s just about right, and, heck, two pounds is two pounds! So that’s exciting! I hope they’re two pounds I’ll never see again!

.

I’m not quite sure I have anything interesting to say today, except that I’ve been thinking about the holidays a lot and I just can’t believe it’s that time of year again. I mean, just… where did 2011 go!?!?! It flew by. Every year is flying by faster and faster and I’m only 24! Where the heck did all of that time go?!

.

Anyway, what are your holiday plans? Where are you headed for Thanksgiving next week? (Next week!?!?!!) I’m headed to my sister’s, not too far from here. We’ll have 16 people and I’m quite looking forward to it. I love Thanksgiving! It’s one of the holidays that I really, really look forward to because I so associate it with my family and good times – dancing, eating, laughing, games. I’m so excited for it this year!

.

Of course, like I said, there’s lot of eating. I refuse to lie about being excited to death about the food. LOL It’s just the truth. I think most of us are probably excited about the dinner spreads that will be laid out before us! I’m going to eat what I’d like on that day, but, as my aunt suggested, try to take it easy the few days before. Does anyone have any tried-and-true tricks for holiday eating? Let me know in the comments!

.

My exercising has been a little sporadic these last couple of weeks. I hate to use my illness of last week as an excuse, but man, I’ve been coughing ever since! But I walked with my mom and aunt (and dog Elvis!) today and did a little bit of cardio On Demand. I hope to get rid of this cough and really get into exercising everyday.

.

A fun little trick that my best friend Leigh and I have been doing lately is texting each other randomly to do different little exercises – jumping jacks, leg lifts, squats, crunches, etc. She’ll send me a text out of nowhere that yells, “DO TEN JUMPING JACKS!” and I stand up and do them, then report back! It’s actually pretty fun, and it’s a good little mini-exercise session! It’s fun to see if I can do more than that, too, right then. Try it out with a friend!

.

Anyway, sorry that this one isn’t more interesting! LOL I hope to do another post, a better one, this week! I have a lot of ideas for this blog!

.

And, just for fun here, since I want to try to add photos wherever I can, I will include a really great political cartoon that I saw circulating Facebook last week. I love Christmas, but I think it belongs after Thanksgiving! So this comic is great! Feel free to spread it around. 🙂

.

You tell him, turkey!

About Sarah

Hey! I'm a 24-year-old Midwestern girl who is starting out at 262 pounds on November 1, 2011 and is hoping to be down to at least 162 pounds by November 1, 2012! Join me on my travels...

Posted on November 14, 2011, in Exercise, Food/Diet, Weigh-In, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Good job on the loss. Keep it going. I like the texting idea, I hadn’t thought of it before… not that I can text anyway.

    • Thank you! It was exciting to see the drop! One more pound and I’m in a new ‘decade’ of weight!

      You need to get on that so we can text all day! 😉

  2. Whoo hoo, 2 pounds!!! That’s awesome, and I like what you said about them being 2 pounds you’ll never see again 😀

    I totally have to agree with the fact that this year went by So. Fast. Ridiculous! But it’s definitely my favorite time of year, so I’m not complaining! I LOVE the idea of just taking it easy a few days before thanksgiving, that is really smart advice and I think I’ll try it out next week!

    Also love the texting idea…I have a few prospects in my mind of friends I can do this with and I’m excited to try it out! Thanks for all the awesome ideas lol, I really hope your dang cough goes away =/

  3. Yay!!! Go Sarah!

    So one idea about holiday snacking/eating I heard and have used is to really save your calories for the good stuff- so instead of snacking too much on cheese and crackers/ deviled eggs/ other hors d’oeuvres (which are delicious all year round) to instead think of spending those calories on things that only come around this time of year- I think of things like the amazing stuffing/ sweet potato bake or my Grandma’s cranberry salad, pies, and other seasonal goodies. The finger foods seems trivial in comparison- I’d rather have an extra scoop of the homemade stuff than eat trail mix before dinner.

    Btw, I am so psyched to see you!!!! It’s going to be epic 😉

  4. Ooooh thanksgiving is tough. Lots of food and good times but try to stick to protein and veggies only. Minimize carbs as that will pack it on and those 2 pounds will come roaring back. I like the idea that you tried eating slowly at least your brain will have time to tell your tummy that you’re full if you are. Good luck! I reside in Toronto Canada so my Thanksgiving has already passed (October 10th). Have fun on Black Friday!

    • Well, I won’t deprive myself of anything, but I will be trying to listen to the ‘you’re full!’ signals!

      Thank you! Happy late Thanksgiving yourself! 🙂

Leave a Reply

