Day 1!

Hello! I hope I have more than 1 or 2 people reading this! lol Maybe my readership will grow as my travels through weight loss land continue; hopefully it will!

.

I weighed in at 262 pounds today – day 1! It’s not my highest weight ever (that would be around 285, in August 2010), but it’s still a daunting number. I have to lose 63 whole pounds to get to one of my major goals – 199!

.

But the mentality has to change. Baby steps! (And baby carrots.) I also keep sabotaging myself by thinking it’ll take sooooo much weight to look different. But I’m assured that I will start to look different after not-as-many pounds! So here’s hoping I look different 63 pounds from now!

.

Food is a friend and an enemy to me. I use it emotionally, and I use it when I’m bored. And those things need to stop! I love food, but it does not always love my hips! So there are some bad habits that need fixing. I also need to pick up the exercise! Blech! Hopefully, after 21 days, it shall be a good habit!

.

.

This will probably be a tough journey for me, so I need lots of encouragement! I hope to really use this as a place to open up and share my troubles and mentalities and all of that that needs to change for me to get healthy and more svelte. I hope, also, to post some fun things – like my “non-scale victories” and hopes. (I dream of killer bikinis!) So please, drop in with a comment or question, anything you’d like. I might do Q&As, too, if I have the readers and the desires. That could be fun! I have lots of ideas.

.

Also, look around at the tabs along the top of the site; it’s more about me, this blog, etc. My measurements and progress photos are up there as well! Comment/email me about anything you’d like. 🙂

.

Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

.

About Sarah

Hey! I'm a 24-year-old Midwestern girl who is starting out at 262 pounds on November 1, 2011 and is hoping to be down to at least 162 pounds by November 1, 2012! Join me on my travels...

Posted on November 1, 2011, in Exercise, Food/Diet, Weigh-In and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. What works for me is to not be wishy-washy about my decisions. Decide to lose 10 lbs first. Once that’s done, decide on 10 more. Just decide it, and don’t even consider the alternative (not losing or gaining). It helps to be confident in your decision and just make that your frame of mind from the start. Then your obstacles aren’t even obstacles anymore. They’re just annoying things from your past or from your other frame of mind. Don’t dwell on what makes you eat or not exercise. Just decide to eat when you schedule it, plan ahead to dress for exercise and then just follow your new frame of mind. That’s what works for me. When I’m not doing things the way I should, it’s because I’ve wrongly given myself permission to be in the wrong frame of mind. It’s like a switch: on and off. Turn it on!

  2. Sarah, I am SO excited to follow your journey! Finding other weight loss blogs on here has been an immense help to me on my own journey, and I am sure you will be successful! I have learned that blogging helps me establish more accountability. Good luck, and always remember that you’re beautiful no matter what you weigh in at! And you’re strong, because you took the initiative to make YOU healthier! 🙂

  3. This is so awesome and brave! You are AWESOME!

  4. I’m here and I support you!!!!

  5. You are going to do GREAT!!

  6. good luck on your goal! focus on making regular improvement not being perfect day one. and when you make a mistake/have a bad meal or day, just acknowledge and start again. it’s gonna happen from time to time – move on and do better.

  7. Yes! One day at a time. Thank you!

  8. Best of luck with your weight loss journey.
    As J says one day at a time.

  9. Congratulations on your decision to do something good for your health! Know that there are lots of people here to support and encourage you! Best of luck to you – and I’ll check back in often to see how you’re doing.

    Mary

Leave a Reply

